COOKED GOOSE

Grotesque Workplace

He looked at me coldly, like the nuisance I had become. I knew my facial expression was all expressive but I wished it to remain emotionless and cold too. My heart was throbbing strongly I thought he could hear it beat against my ribcage. He was literally the only gap between me and happiness. These recent developments had really left a bad taste in my mouth. My spirit was crushed by the one man I had to face every day of my life at that workplace, My Boss.

Before you start getting ideas, nothing sinister had happened. However, my payslip looked like nothing i had expected. I had just quite a job where I had grown and learned in search for greener pastures and “exposure “. And here I was starved and thirsty right in the middle of the greener pastures. Apparently, my salary was based on the days I had actually reported to work. This meant I would face a slash of over ksh15,000, something that was omitted in the contract.

It was majorly the reason I had visited his office in the first place. I had been deducted more than 50% of my salary! The only thing that was playing in my mind was how difficult it would be to keep my two daughters fed and happy. That recent month had been such a hustle. Having spent all my salary plus credit from friends to relocate, use as bus fare ( which was a new venture) in addition to feeding my family healthily.

I might have forgotten to mention that I had been compelled by the company to purchase a very expensive phone to help me carry out my designated duties. It was to be deducted a huge chank from my salary for 4 month. I wasn’t in a position to say No, as much as I wished the company would just buy it and give me for safekeeping just like they did laptops and sales people cellphones. I had obliged, ignorant of a week’s wage deductions.

And as I sat there, directly facing the never-smiling CEO, I could barely control my tears. So many things had worked against me in that company, as everyone struggled to use me as a scapegoat for their shortcomings. Having to deal with a paycut was almost my breaking point. After dismissing me with “Nobody will pay you for the days you spent at home”, it slapped me really hard on my face. I got to my desk not just broken but shattered to small scattered pieces.

I tried collecting myself together to no avail. I ended up mourning my ksh.15000 on the noisy bus home. I was cursing in my heart, wishing him things that I really hope never happen now that I am calm.

I will try and keep up my journals as consistent as possible. But you have to promise to read.

One happy pic I took while working

Leave a comment